Writing erotic romance and BDSM

While I’m writing erotic stories–short, novellas, and novels–they contain some BDSM scenes. Not all my stories in this genre will. And this is a good point to add that my stories really are for adults aged 21 and over. I would say “mature” but I’ve known 16-year-olds who are more mature than 42-year-olds. But I digress.

BDSM fits erotic romance quite nicely because of the inherent tension and the need to trust. I’m also developing a conviction that most erotic romance stories about BDSM so often take place in fetish clubs. Another point to make about BDSM is that no equipment is necessary. Certainly, it’s nice to use like blindfolds, ropes, paddling benches and more. But a dominant woman once told me, “the only piece of equipment I really need is myself.” Someone who is skilled is able to connect in the mental space with the one who is submissive.

I don’t have anything against fetish clubs but most writers set up this world like it’s the only place to capture this part of a story. It’s not. My story Layover, where a woman unwittingly meets a man who is sexually dominant, takes place in a simple motel room near an airport. The only “equipment” used is a rope.

Layover is available on (click one) Amazon for the Kindle, Borders online, or from the publisher Breathless Press.

Riding Shotgun, my other erotic story coming out May 27th, takes place in the home of a man who lives in a small town. Now there is equipment in that one–it’s equipment he crafted and for a special person–but it’s not the equipment that’s the focus. It’s the relationship.

I just finished a draft of a novella, Getaway, about a woman camping alone in the mountains above Los Angeles. And that one will also contain BDSM elements.

But my stories also use humor and characters discovering themselves. Click here to read summaries of my completed works and my works-in-progress.

I think BDSM is a fascinating subject. It’s so fascinating that I don’t think the stories belong only in fetish clubs. They belong outside, too, in the real lives that people experience.

About DD Symms

Writing is foundational to our communication like running is to sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing erotic romance and BDSM

  1. DD Symms says:

    It’s a thrilling topic to explore … especially the mental aspects of it.

Leave a Reply

