The music I listen to while writing my novels and stories

Ever since October 2010, I’ve listened to Daryl Hall and John Oates while writing my stories – whether they be erotic fiction like my novel Boarding that is getting oh-so-close to finishing or non-fiction.

What is it that draws me to Hall and Oates more now than back in the 70s and 80s?

I saw them in concert at the LA County Fair in 2010 and I was impressed by the concert and then as I watched them on YouTube I became more appreciative than ever of the way they craft their music.

If I was a musician, both Daryl Hall and John Oates have the skill and work ethic I would aspire to. That’s collectively and individually.

As a writer, I want to create and be productive but I am concerned about the value of my words and how I craft a story. They’re a standard for me as a writer as well.

What’s funny is I bought a Hall and Oates CD in 2011 for the first time ever. So that goes to show building an audience is a long-term process.

The duo is great in working with other musicians, too.

Check them out via YouTube or on their respective websites: click here for John Oates or click here for Daryl Hall’s internet show Live from Daryl’s House.

 

About DD Symms

Writing is foundational to our communication like running is to sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

