Guest Blog: Alone No More – Things that go Bump in the Night – Why I Write Paranormal Romance

What we see and read in our early years often impacts what we write, read and choose as a career in our adult years. Guest author Sheri Velarde stops by today with her memories and her recent release under her pen name Kelly RyanKelly Ryan. Hi Sheri!

Thanks, DD.

Ever since I was a child, it was the ghost stories, the horror stories that got me to pay the most attention.

When I was in kindergarten, I read Bunnicula about a vampire bunny that drained carrots and I began a life long fascination with vampires. Lord of the Rings made me interested in elves, orcs, and goblins. Then once puberty hit, romance came into play. My grandmother had a huge collection of romance novels that I began to devour. The Thorn Birds is one that still stick in my mind (yes, I watched the mini-series with my grandmother as well), with its forbidden love affair.

It seems only natural that I combine my two reading loves when it came to writing and to choose to write paranormal romance. To me writing paranormal romance is the best of both worlds. I still get to write about supernatural creatures, or as I like to call them, things that go bump in the night – just in my books there may be many causes for said bumping in the night, if you get my meaning. LOL And I also get to write romance as well, sometimes forbidden romance even, which is fun!

 

Now I am lucky enough to be able to make at least part of my living from my writing endeavors. I do not think that the girl who read Bunnicula or the preteen who read The Thorn Birds would have ever dreamed such a thing was possible. But it is! My latest release, Alone No More will be out on Breathless Press on June 28th! You can buy it at:

http://www.breathlesspress.com/. It is of course about things that go bump in the night and about finding true love. It was a joy to write and I sincerely hope that people enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Sheri Velarde aka Kelly Ryan

http://sherivelarde.weebly.com/

 

About DD Symms

Writing is foundational to our communication like running is to sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guest Blog: Alone No More – Things that go Bump in the Night – Why I Write Paranormal Romance

  1. Sheri says:

    Thanks for hosting me! Let me know if I can ever return the favor!

  2. Sheri says:

    Awesome! I can host you the day of or whenever you like! Just send me a guest blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

