Guest Author Sheri Velarde Reveals Her Zombie Secrets

Today I welcome guest author Sheri Velarde who also writes under the pen name Kelly Ryan. It’s great to have you here today, Sheri, and fill us in on your new book. You’ve got an intriguinSalvation Kelly Ryang cover, too. I’ve got a few questions for you.

Thanks, DD. Fire away.

Describe your story in 2 – 3 sentences

What if the zombie apocalypse turns out to be engineered by humans? That we are bring ourselves to the brink of destruction, and a young woman might hold the only key to the salvation of mankind? That is what my latest story, Salvation, asks and answers.

What led you to write it?

I love paranormal and horror related romance, but I usually spend my time writing about the cool kids of the undead, vampires, so I thought I would push myself out of my comfort zone and dive into zombie infested waters.

What tickled you the most, freaked you out, made you laugh or cry, or got you hot and bothered about your story?

There is a scene towards the beginning of Salvation where my hero and heroine are leaving Manhattan right before the city is shut off. As someone who has lived in NYC, I was pretty freaked out at the idea of all tunnels and bridges being shut down and people on the island of Manhattan being completely trapped. I wrote one of my own deepest fears.

What’s an intriguing quality about one of the characters?

My heroine is the ultimate survivor, she has been through hell and back but still has hope and love in her heart, that is pretty darn intriguing in my book.

Excerpt:

Not knowing why, not examining her actions or thinking about the consequences, Kol leaned forward and kissed Nick on the lips. She was very tentative at first, but when he put up no resistance, she deepened the kiss, parting his lips with her tongue, truly tasting him. She moved closer to him, turning and practically crawling onto his lap. As way of encouragement, Nick reached down and pushed his seat all the way back, giving Kol all the room she needed to continue her course of action. Needing no further invitation, she crawled onto him, straddling him, all the while never breaking their passionate kiss.

Once she was on top of him, Kol lost a little bit of her confidence, some of the self-doubt that had always followed her around began to work its way back into her psyche. Nick could clearly sense that something wrong, for he brought both his hands up to her face and held her gaze as he spoke to her.

“This is a traumatic time; we don’t have to do anything if you don’t want to. I don’t want to make matters worse for you. I only want to protect you, make you feel safe.”

“You do make me feel safe. Plus, I have wanted you since the moment that I laid eyes on you; I just don’t want to force you to do something out of pity or…” Kol trailed off, finding it impossible to put into words that she her fears that a man like Nick could ever want damaged goods like her.

Nick brought his lips slowly and deliberately back to hers and kissed her gently. “I wanted you when I first saw you move into the building. You are a gorgeous woman and if we had not seen those helicopters and planes from the roof of the building, I think you would have been spending the night in my bed. So trust me when I say, I am doing nothing out of pity here. Lust yes, pity no.”

Purchase link:

Breathless Press

Amazon

Author Links:

Website: http://sherivelarde.weebly.com/

Facebook: Sheri Velarde/Kelly Ryan

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Sher_V

About DD Symms

Writing is foundational to our communication like running is to sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

